Sue Grafton

Books by Sue Grafton


Sue Taylor Grafton born in Louisville, Kentucky,  on 24 April 1940, , is an American author for detective novels, best known for the ‘alphabet series’ which feature the investigator Kinsey Millhone in Santa Teresa in California. This city is fictional. She started writing at the age of 18 and took almost four years to complete her first book. After which she completed six manuscripts, of which two were published. She started on screenplays for the following 15 years which gave her an insight into story structure, dialogue writing and also creating sequences for action. Sue Grafton is published in 28 countries and 26 languages which include Bulgarian, Estonian and also Indonesian.

Books by Sue Grafton

Sue Grafton turned her attention to mystery writing after her books; Keziah Dane (1967) and The Lolly-Madonna War (1969) were published. She took to screenwriting after these books and then wrote on the mystery series. She liked the idea of writing mystery books which were alphabet based which are called ‘the alphabet novels’. In this series, Sue Grafton writes from the perspective of an investigator, Kinsey Millhone. Her first book, “A” Alibi” is set and written in the year 1982. The second novel, “B” Burglar has been published in the year 1985. This was followed by a series of books each year, right up to “M” is for Malice in 1996. Most of the books in these series were written from the first-person perspective of Kinsey Millhone, but later her books, like “S” is for Silence (2005) includes parts from a third person’s perspective of her characters.

Sue Grafton Book into a Movie


Sue Grafton’s career as a writer started in 1960. The book, “The Lolly-Madonna War” was made into a movie. This was in the year 1973, after which she started working as a screen writer in Hollywood. It was till the year 1980 that Sue Grafton worked for television with the “Nurse” series and the “Love on the Run” television movie.

Sue Grafton Awards

Sue Grafton won the Anthony Awards for Best Novel in 1986 and 1987 for “B” Burglar and “C” Corpse. Besides this, in the year 1991, she won the Anthony Best Novel Award again for “G” Gumshoe. She has also been conferred with Shamus Awards. Besides this, in 1987, she got the Anthony Award for short story for “The Parker Shotgun”. Sue Grafton won the Achievement Award in the year 2000.

The Literary Award given to a writer from California, whose work can raise the excellence standard of literary, was given to Sue Grafton. The British Crime Writer’s Association awarded Sue Grafton the Dagger of Cartier in the year 2008, which honors a lifetime achievement in this field. It was in the year 2009, that Sue Grafton received the Award from the Mystery Writers of America and she was giventhe Bouchercon’s for Lifetime Achievement in the year 2013.

Best Sue Grafton Books:

Sue Grafton’s ‘alphabet’ series keeps you at the edge of your seat, wanting more. With her many strengths in writing like the deft plotting, crisp characterization and eloquent dialogue, you can opt for “W” is for wasted. This is the 23rd entry in her list of the ‘alphabet’ series. This story line reveals how the deaths of two men which are absolutely different affect the life of Kinsey. Pete Wolinsky, the first man who was found murdered in a park, is a PI termed as ‘shady’. R.T. Dace, the second person murdered is an alcoholic who leaves her half a million bucks as he turns out to be her relative. Kinsey sets out to gather more information on R.T. Dace and the reason for him disinheriting his family. Readers will have to wade through a lot of twists and turns to get to the conclusion of this story.

“A” is for Alibi

In this book, Sue Grafton introduces the readers to the private investigator and a former cop, Kinsey Millhone, who has set up a modest detective agency and is all set out to find the real killer of Nike Fife’s husband. Nike Fife had been convicted of the murder and is out on parole and hires Kinsey to get to the bottom of the mystery.


This novel is the 24th one in Sue Grafton’s series of the ‘alphabet novels’. This is supposedly one of the most chilling and darkest novels penned by Sue Grafton. This book is about a serial killer who is remorseless and tends to leave no trace of any of his crimes. The sociopath is identified but the challenge lies in whether Kinsey is able to prove her case against him.